Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

NR, 94 minutes
Fri, Jun 29 at 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Sat, Jun 30 at 2:45pm, 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Sun, Jul 1 at 2:45pm, 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Mon, Jul 2 at 5:00pm
Tue, Jul 3 at 5:00pm
Wed, Jul 4 at 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Thu, Jul 5 at 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Fri, Jul 6 at 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Sat, Jul 7 at 2:45pm, 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Sun, Jul 8 at 2:45pm, 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Mon, Jul 9 at 5:00pm
Tue, Jul 10 at 5:00pm
Wed, Jul 11 at 5:00pm, 7:15pm
Thu, Jul 12 at 5:00pm, 7:15pm

For over thirty years, Fred Rogers, an unassuming minister, puppeteer, writer and producer was beamed daily into homes across America. In his beloved television program, Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, Fred and his cast of puppets and friends spoke directly to young children about some of life’s weightiest issues, in a simple, direct fashion. There hadn’t been anything like Mr. Rogers on television before and there hasn’t been since.

Though he may be best known today as a soft-spoken, cardigan-wearing children’s television host, in reality, Fred Rogers’ career represents a sustained attempt to present a coherent, beneficent view about how we should best speak to children about important matters and how television could be used as a positive force in our society. Touching, funny, poignant, WON’T YOU BE MY NEIGHBOR assures us that in a scary and unpredictable world, we can still be a light for others. (2018, Morgan Neville, English, 94 mins, NR, DCP)

“On paper, all that low-key positivity ought to be tricky material for a documentary filmmaker. But watching “Won’t You Be My Neighbor?” was a profoundly emotional experience.” — Steve Pond, The Wrap

“If Mr. Rogers ever meant anything to you, this film must be seen.” — Stephen Silver, Broad Street Review

“Both nostalgic and immediate, it’s a documentary you want to hug.” — Daniel Fienberg, The Hollywood Reporter


About the Author



Back to Top ↑